Our History


 A Brief History of Dalwhinnie

  • 1976: The first vines are planted at Dalwhinnie, one block of Shiraz and one block of Cabernet Sauvignon.
  • 1980: The first vintage of Dalwhinnie Moonambel Shiraz and Dalwhinnie Moonambel Cabernet is produced.
  • 1984: The first release of Dalwhinnie Moonambel Chardonnay.
  • 1985: Construction commenced on Dalwhinnie's cellar door and tasting room.
  • 1986: The release of the Eagle Series, Dalwhinnie’s first single block Shiraz.
  • 1989: The planting of Forest Hut Vineyard Pinot Noir block.
  • 1995: The planting of the Southwest Rocks Shiraz block.
  • 1997: The planting of the Pinnacle Shiraz block.
  • 1999: The planting of the Forest Hut Shiraz block.
  • 2002: Dalwhinnie's 30 tonne winery is completed.
  • 2003: The first vintage of Southwest Rocks single block Shiraz.
  • 2008: The first vintage of Pinnacle single block Shiraz.
  • 2010: The first vintage of The Hut range of wines.
  • 2011: Dalwhinnie celebrates the 30th anniversary of the Moonambel Shiraz and Moonambel Cabernet.
  • 2011: Two of Dalwhinnie's Shiraz received Langton's Classifications in 2014. The Dalwhinnie Eagle Shiraz obtained the classification of OUTSTANDING, defined by Langton's as "Australian wines of outstanding quality and provenance. Wines that comprise the essence of the Australian ultra-fine wine scene. These classic wines represent the pinnacle of genre or evoke an enduring standard; wines that demonstrate individual winemaking philosophy, single-vineyard expression, old-vine heritage, regional classicism and house-style". The Dalwhinnie Moonambel Shiraz obtained the classification EXCELLENT, defined by Langton's as "High performing wines of exquisite quality. Many have a long-standing reputation for consistency, integrity and longevity."
  • 2020: Dalwhinnie is acquired by Fogarty Wine Group.
  • 2020: The Eagle Shiraz 2015 is awarded 97 points in the James Halliday Australian Wine Companion 2020 Edition.